Posterized

This is great. Thanks, Ricig.

Yesterday Sun sports editor Ron Fritz stopped by to visit for a bit. I had no idea he was bringing me the best journalism gift I could imagine: a personalized poster from acclaimed cartoonist Mike Ricigliano.

Ricig is the best sports cartoonist in the business. I never dreamed that one day he’d sketch my face. When I was little, my grandfather used to pick up copies of USA Today Baseball Weekly for me, and I remember seeing the cartoons and noting the “Ricig” signature. Ricig spent many years at USA Today Sports Weekly and Baseball Weekly, and now you can see his work each Sunday in the Sun as well as at his website.

I also have to say thank you to my colleagues at the Sun for their card, signed by more people in the newsroom than I’ve met. Support continues to radiate in from other places as well. Ron brought me a note and check sent by an elderly woman in Towson. “The Sun papers have always been in my life,” she wrote. “I hope you will recover rapidly.” Short and to the point — qualities an editor can appreciate.

Another thing that brightened yesterday was the letter and gift mailed to the Sun by the woman who spent many years at the Star Democrat in Easton. She sent something because she knows Adrianne Flynn, who was my editor at the University of Maryland’s Capital News Service.

These are just two of the letters, Facebook messages and tweets I’ve received because of the industry in which I work. I’ve never been prouder to be a journalist.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

