Moving day Pt. I

Today my girlfriend, my brother and I moved most of my things out of the house in Canton. That makes it four apartments/houses I’ve hauled my belongings out of in span of less than three-and-a-half years. Just an incredible stretch. In chronological order, that’s been: a horribly mismanaged/undermanaged apartment complex in Laurel, an incompetent landlord who kicked me out because he was getting married without warning, a house that was sold out from under me (and then horribly mismanaged by Star Property Management, the worst company I’ve ever dealt with in my life) and now an accelerated move-out because my roommate decided to leave.

Counting moving out after finishing grad school, I’ve moved six times since the spring of 2006. For someone who grew up on a farm and got used to the consistency and constancy of that lifestyle, that’s been a hard test. Each time I moved, I swore it would be my last relocation for a while. And then forces of the universe — some within my control but many far beyond it — laughed at me.

The good news is that I was going to move anyway. My girlfriend and I are getting a new house. It’s still being built and should be done in less than a month. It has a view of water and, in the distance, a golf course. It’ll be more work than I know, but it is something I’ve been waiting for since the fall and it’s finally almost tangible.

You want the weather to be sunny and warm on moving day … and today was basically the opposite. It rained steadily all morning, and the temperature was about 40 degrees. Thankfully my brother Joe was driving through on his way to a work trip and dedicated his day to slogging through the mud, hauling boxes of strange and assorted sizes and helping clean the house. Spending time with my brother, who is 7 years younger than me, always reminds me of childhood, and those memories steadily grow in value as time goes by.

There is still some work to be done at the old house, though. People who had pledged to pick up my IKEA bed, which has made it through a total of five moves since I purchased it heading into grad school at Maryland, decided that they couldn’t take it away in rainy weather. I still have a small couch I’m trying to unload as well. If all goes as planned, they will be gone by tomorrow.

Tomorrow is also when I’ll be at Camden Yards for O’s-Red Sox Opening Day. As James Earl Jones’ Terence Mann said in “Field of Dreams,” baseball reminds us of all that is good and could be again. It’s important to have those reminders in life. Time passes, belongings come and go, but baseball is always there.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

